Exploring Inkscape


Testing out my new tool, inkscape

This is the first figure that I made with the vector graphics editor Inkscape

To create the beautiful figures in my dissertation, I have decided to venture away from my beloved xfig.  Over the past five years, I have become proficient in using xfig, as it is Herbert’s editor of choice.  However, I have found it to be quite a nuisance to constantly export to PS/Tex.

I first tried to use ipe, since this is the tool that Dave uses.  I can save directly to a PDF in ipe, so the extra step of exporting my figure could be eliminated if I were to use this program.  After failing to create a simple example that involved a Circle and four lines, I became frustrated.  I tried for a whole hour to move just one point.

Then, Andy suggested using Inkscape.  He said that it is more intuitive than ipe.  Shortly after beginning my exploration of Inkscape, I found a tutorial online that walked through creating a soup can.  At first, I had some issues with creating ellipses (they all had a pizza slice taken out of them!)  After that was sorted out, I was easily able to make a can, with a customized label and a shadow.

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Exploring Inkscape”

  1. Liz Says:

    Win. Inkscape is awesome!

  2. Laura Says:

    Be careful with Inkscape. I stupidly one time worked on a figure for 1 1/2 hour and an error happened and I lost the whole thing. You might be able to setup autosave, but I haven’t figured it out. I just save every couple of minutes now.

    • bfasy Says:

      Luckily I don’t have the patience to work on a figure for 1.5 hours non-stop. But, I do appreciate the warning. I will make sure to save often.

  3. apm-designs Says:

    I use Inkscape and find it very intuitive even comparing the commercial standard software such as Illustrator.

    Personally I love it

Let me know what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 812 other followers

