Deutschakademie

students in my Duetschkurs

students in my Duetschkurs

Currently, I am painted out of my house.  So, I decided to update you on my life.

The day of my last post, Bei and I went around Wien. We went to the Belvedere, and saw some of the work by Klimt.  I enjoyed the view of the gardens from inside the museum.  When you are at the garden level, you can’t see the overall design.  The end of the upper Belvedere had a room of sculpted heads in different positions.  One, entitled “rescued from drowning” had a striking resemblance to Herbert.  Then, we went to the lower Belvedere.  We weren’t as impressed with that gallery, but we did enjoy the orangenarie.  It was a small exhibit of modern art.  Very different from the rest of the artwork on display at the Belvedere.  Not to mention the half naked half human statues all over the place.  We also went to Stefansplatz to take photos of the famous church, and to the Hunderwasserhous.  Hunderwasser was a famous Austrian architect.  He doesn’t like straight lines … even for the flooring.

Last weekend, Bei and I went out again.  We started in Naschmarkt where we bought too many things.  Around noon, Karine (a girl from my Duetschkurs) joined us.  The three of us ate lunch, and continued shopping.  Bei and I thought it was a good idea to buy some fresh meat for dinner, and store it at Amit’s house.  So, we dropped off the food and walked around the city center: to Stefansdome (again), to the Hapsburg palace (outside only), and to the Rathaus (town center), where there was a circus.  We returned to Amits to collect our belongings and went to Klosterneuburg, where everyone had dinner together at a Heurigen.  (This is after I sent Bei alone on the bus with all of our grocery bags to bring them home).

A couple of weeks ago, we went to a party at the house of a woman Paul met on an airplane.  They invited us to the anniversary of her husband’s restaurant.  We went to that, and ate some food (for free).  It was a pretty good restaurant, but only open on Friday and Saturdays.  Afterwards, Paul and Amit went to Karlsplatz and Bei, Chao and I went to find a place to go dancing.  When we were unsuccessful, we settled for a furniture store that was also a bar.  There, we met two native Austrians (granted they were from the western part of the country, but they live in Wien now).  We actually have plans to meet them for dinner tonight.  Hopefully it will be something good!

So, I am finished my third week of my Duetschkurs.  To the left is a photo of my class.  Karine is the one standing right behind me to my left.  Regina (on the right of the photo wearing a pink shirt) was my coach at a basketball camp at SJU!  The world is too small.  But, I do see that I am getting better at speaking Deutsch.  Bei has been impressed at least.  Two teenagers were talking to us at the bus stop, and I held a conversation with them, until they asked us how old we were! haha.  I probably broke their hearts when we stopped talking to them.

Two days ago Amit made dinner for Karine, Paul, and me.  It was delicious.  He needs to do that more often!

Tonight, Darrell arrives, which means a loong day of sightseeing tomorrow!  (of course ending with a long stay at a Heurigen.

(an update on the first comment: somehow the front door to the apartment house was deadbolted from the inside … how that happens no one knows. Stefan climbed into a second story window to let us in)

Let me know what you think!

