Resident of Vienna

This post is just a couple of random thoughts.

As of today, I am officially a resident of Vienna.  I was supposed to register within three days of moving to Vienna, which I did … with a multiplicitive constant of three.

I am wondering how my language in Facebook got set to be French.  I don’t understand.

Also, there is a video called “I am a technical woman“.  It was created at the 2008 Grace Hopper celebration, and is supposed to encourage young women to become technical women.  Yours truly is shown around one minute and 42 seconds.  Enjoy!

Thursday is Thanksgiving, and we are celebrating American style.  I am making a turkey, stuffing, and gravy.  Amit is bringing mashed potatoes, Bei is making vegetables, and Paul is making Sweet Potatoes.  Michael and Michaela (yes, married with almost the same name) are bringing Dessert, and Herbert will bring Sturm (even though the season is over … he stocked up to hold him over until next year I think).  There are just a few challenges when cooking a turkey in a foreign country.  (1) getting the turkey.  (2) finding a rack to cook it on. (3) finding a turkey baster.  After playing charades a couple of stores….I was able to accomplish all three purchases.  I just hope they give me the liver and the heart of the turkey.

Amit and I will be going to Innsbruck to go skiing on a glacier December 7 and 8.  We are skiing at Stubaier Gletscher, and staying at a hostel in the 6-bed room.  Now, I need to look into planning our Christmas ski holiday.  🙂

4 Responses to “Resident of Vienna”

  1. Laura Says:

    Bchick I suspect you’ll get all the intestines with the turkey!

    And Brit, I’m really not sure if you’re a technical woman or not. I only saw you shakin’ your booty! 😉

  2. Natalie Says:

    In the difficulties of cooking the turkey, you forgot about lugging a big bird up those 104 steps

  3. bfasy Says:

    Yeah, but I haven’t accomplished that yet …. I wanted to list only the successful things that have happened. 104 steps …. I think there are more now. They must multiply or something.

  4. Terese Fasy Says:

    Boy..these sure were some random thoughts! And so glad you were able to get all of your Thanksgiving ingredients! Can’t wait to hear how it all goes! I heard about your steps, Brit, be careful!

    And I never realized you could dance so well! And..please be careful skiing!

Let me know what you think!

