Mornings at the Train Station

My new trip to IST Austria consists of walking ten minutes to the main street, then taking a tram for one stop or walking to Hernals (a train station).  From there, I take a train to Heilengenstadt, where I catch the bus to Maria Gugging.  If I miss the bus, I take another train to Klosterneuburg and catch the bus there.   If I time it right, the whole thing can be done in under 40 minutes.  If I mess up the timing, then it takes over an hour.

The other day, I saw something interesting at the Hernals train station.  They have a kiosk that sells small snacks and sodas and cans of beer.  Apparently, you can also get a glass of wine there.  At 8:00 a.m., there was a man sitting at the “table” (which was created by a coca-cola tin barrel with a slab of wood on top) with a glass of wine (a real wine glass was used too).  8:00 in the morning!  He was dressed like any other person that day, looking like he was on his way into the office.  He was sipping his wine at the stool like there was nothing wrong with the picture at all.  I told this to Michael, who suggested that maybe he worked a night shift and was on his way home.  I doubt that this possibility is true.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Mornings at the Train Station”

  1. pk Says:

    I don’t think it’s true either 🙂

  2. Terese Fasy Says:

    You are in Europe – customs are different? Or – it’s how he starts his day? At least he was taking a train!

    I found this interesting fact: Thomas Jefferson, who was a enthusiastic observer of European customs, once said: “No nation is drunken where wine is cheap and none sober where the dearness of wine substitutes ardent spirits as the common beverage.”

    I’m envious – you’re having wonderful experiences, Brit and I think I would like Austria!

Let me know what you think!

