Aww, nuts!

Since yesterday was a working day, we decided to celebrate Thanksgiving on Sunday instead of Thursday.  So, this weekend will be my European Thanksgiving.  It will be the first year that I didn’t celebrate Thanksgiving on the actual day and the first year that I am not going to eat Turkey during my Thanksgiving meal 😦  We’ll be using the turkey recipe on 4 chickens instead (I think we need to cook them in 2 shifts, since there is only one oven.

This was my Thanksgiving: In the office from around 10a.m. to 5:00.  Then, I had my German class 6-9 p.m.  After that, I went to play Mario with Jilly and Paul, where I ate a PB&J sandwich with a glass of wine.  🙂

The other day, Paul received a package in the mail at IST Austria. It was one of Eli’s birthday presents that had arrived late.  It was a large stuffed animal … a shark.  Maybe 2.5 feet long.  So, Paul had to carry it home, traveling via Bus and U-Bahn.  This is a conversation that he posted on Facebook that made me laugh:  “warum hast du einen hai?”   “warum hast du keinen?”  (translation: Q:  why do you have a shark?  A:  why do you have no shark?)

Speaking of Eli, reminds me of last weekend.   He’s now 4, and plays the Wii with us (well, not during our late night wii games).  He and I were playing on Saturday. We were playing Mario.  And, when we went to a mushroom house and got a bad card, I would say “aww, nuts!”  He repeated me, but didn’t make a big deal of it.  Then, I came over the next day.  When he woke up, he asked Jilly when I would come over.  He’s getting used to me hanging out there all the time! lol.  But, we started playing bowling together.  While playing, he says “remember Brittany when you said ‘aww, nuts!’ yesterday?” I said yes, then he reacts to missing a spare with “aww, nuts!”  Jilly looks at me and says, he was going around all morning saying that.  I was wondering where he picked it up.  I’m proud to have contributed to his list of favorite sayings!  Although, we might have overused it while playing bowling on Sunday … every time any pin was missed we said “aww, nuts!!”

Tags:

2 Responses to “Aww, nuts!”

  1. pk Says:

    …did Paul and the person on the bus really use “du” to each other? I would never have dared!

Let me know what you think!

