Dave’s Proposal

Tuesday was a beautiful day.  We woke up and went to breakfast.  Then, we got ready to go skiing for the day.  Since the weather was beautiful but was supposed to become overcast at the end of the day, we decided to go up to the top of  Valluga first thing.  It is the tallest point in this skiing region, and you are only allowed to bring your skis up there if you are accompanied by a guide or insane.  Needless to say, we did not bring our skis up with us.  We went up in a small gondola that fit exactly six people.  When we arrived at the top, I was amazed that people were starting to ski off of it!  People were insane.  So, I just started looking over the sides waiting to see if I could see someone fall down the mountain.

Dave said “let’s go to the top” and so we walked up the stairs to the observation deck.  I was still looking all around, and Dave was being all sorts of nervous.  Then, he pulled me to the center of the circle and I knew what he was going to do.  He began his speech:

Ever since we met, I was amazed by your beauty, confidence, and brilliance,    but it was your kindness, compassion and patience that made me fall in love    with you.  You make me happier than I ever thought possible, and I know that    I will love you forever.

plaque marking the two states of Austria

This is where the proposal happened

I made it difficult for him to say this because I didn’t want the moment to end, so I just kept kissing him.  I hugged him really tight and felt his heart beating way too fast, so I let him finish before he had a heart attack.   Then, this is what happened according to him: He got down on one knee and asked “Brittany Terese Fasy, will you marry me?”  and I said “of course” and pushed him over.  Then, he put the ring on me. There was a pretty pink ribbon tied around it and a rope attached to the ribbon which connected the ribbon to his pants.  This is what happened in my opinion: he got down on two knees and asked “Brittany Terese Fasy, will you marry me?” to which I responded”of course!” Then, it seemed like forever until he put the ring on me. I made him get up and we hugged for a long time.

Right after the proposal

We are standing at the top of Valluga, right after Dave proposed!

During this proposal, we were actually in two different states of Austria.  Dave was in Voraldberg and I was in  Tirol.  We hung out at the top for a while so that Dave could enjoy the view and we could take a few photographs.

After a while, we were ready to ski again.  So, we had to make a decision: do. we take  a red slope or a red dashed slope?  Both of which are marked on the map, but the dashed slopes are not marked on the mountain, or controlled by the mountain staff.  Feeling invincible, Dave agreed to do the off-piste piste(maybe that is an oxymoron?)  So, we followed the tracks of two other skiers into the valley between two mountains.  The first half of this trail was AMAZING. I think that this is the best skiing conditions that either of us have ever skied in before.  Then, it started to get mushy, but we continued.  Then, I started to get hungry so I started to fall.  And, Dave started to realize that he is skiing on a really hard slope and the conditions were getting worse.  I pulled it together after I ate some fresh snow, but Dave was struggling down the slope.  Eventually, he pulled it together too and skied as much as was skiable, but then we were stuck about 3/4 down the mountain with minimal snow cover.  Luckily, we could see the piste that we were supposed to join up with.  We took off our skis and walked through the mud and mushy snow.  After a couple of minutes, I look back and don’t see Dave’s left leg.  It fell through the snow!   Then, I realize that we are walking over a stream!  So, we got down on all fours, rested on our skis a bit and slid across the snow-covered stream so that we wouldn’t fall through.The tracks we were following crossed another stream that I did not see us crossing successfully, so we decided to take a new path.  Luckily, it worked out and about 45 minutes after we took off our skis, we were back on a piste!  We both agree that even though the second half of that trail was a disaster, it was totally worth it for the skiing at the top.  That being said, we wouldn’t do it again.

Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “Dave’s Proposal”

  1. Darrell Bethea Says:

    I’m Darrell, and I approve this message.

  2. Laura Says:

    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay!!!! 😀 😀 😀 😀 gorgeous gorgeous day !!!

  3. Laura Says:

    Wait, did Dave pick the spot where you were in two states of Austria, or did it just happen that way ??

  4. bfasy Says:

    It just happened that way, but it is very fitting since we currently live in different countries. In fact, airlines think we need visas to visit each other.

  5. Teresa Says:

    so exciting! And I like the crazy skiing story later.

  6. Kelli Says:

    Brittany, why did you push DAVE over? Silly girl.
    Thanks for sharing!!!

  7. New Goal: Get Freshly Pressed « Brittany's Blog Says:

    […] say my blog is very unique.  I talk about life as a graduate student, living in Austria, being engaged, and whatever happens to be on my mind.  And, of course, no bad […]

Let me know what you think!

