Google Voice

I use Google Voice and Text Free on my ipod in order to send and receive calls and text messages for free from Austria, as long as I have a working internet connection.  If I miss a call, the voicemail is recorded by Google Voice and emailed to me.  Often, Dave’s messages are transcribed incorrectly.  I thought that I would dedicate a post to highlight some of the messages that I read in my email:

Hey what’s up. I think that phone say hey, what’s going on. I don’t hear I minutes for him Yes, I’ll talk tothe Barnes and Nobles pick up a Magazine and author parts. I love you.

I wonder what author parts he picked up at the Barnes & Noble.  Often, in his messages, his words contain plenty of repetition that is not common in Dave’s speech.  This one makes him sound like a Backstreet Boy:

Hey babe, it’s me I don’t know if you’ve got enough Yes. But. I
was just calling because I’m going to go see if I love you And I miss you.
[….]  Bye honey. Love you. Good
luck on your teams and have a fun time. I love you bye bye, bye.

Google does not understand my name or his name correctly (or maybe Dave doesn’t know what our names are).  Babe and honey are not words that typically come out of Dave’s mouth, but Google adds them in there for him.  But, there are just other names that come out of the blue as well:

Hey what’s up. It’s Dave from excessive what you are not so there’s a lot.

Hey what’s up. It’s Mansard then I work with all of that and see what’s up. Alright thank you bye.

Hey what’s up. It’s me. […] I am Oliver. Love youbye.

Hey Brett, It’s Dave. I was just calling to see what’s going on walking over. To bottling to get myselfsome sort of things and maybe watch some of you and see you later, but gimme a call. If you want. I’llbe around. I love you bye bye, hey.

Sometime he can predict the future:

Hey what’s up. It’s me, just calling what’s going on. Hello to you Give me a call when you get sick.When you get this. Hey

but he only guesses about the past:

Hey what’s up. It’s me. I was just calling to tell you. Guess what we’re gonna rain last night. ThePassenger Car Business, You’re not only bye HI late. I think. I think. No Cardiff in, actually. Okay, byelove you. I’ll talk to you later. Bye.

And sometimes he breaks into a rap:

What what what. Bob Bob Bob Dole, I really Global.

 

 

So, next time you leave me a message, know that it doesn’t really matter what you say, Google will find the words for you anyway.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Google Voice”

  1. Paul Klingsberg Says:

    Those are hysterical!!

  2. bfasy Says:

    Today I just got another one from Lemon Hill Mansion:
    This Brinkley this is not been hell mansion returning your call.

  3. Laura Says:

    omg this is hilarious. I love the “give me call when you get sick” !!

  4. Terese Fasy Says:

    These are a riot! I am laughing so hard I have tears right now! LOL especially @ Oliver and Mansard! Just too funny!!!

Let me know what you think!

