Unregistered Vehicle

Whoops.   My NC registration expired in August, and I am now back in the USA.

I won’t be back in NC until the end of November, so waiting until then seems to be a dangerous risk.  I called up NC DOT today.  They said that in lieu of NC inspection, I can get any sort of vehicle maintenance done on my car in PA.  I have to fax that plus a utility bill of my parents to them, and I get an exception.  Then, I can renew my registration.

The trick now is getting my car to the mechanic.  I guess I must illegally drive my car today.  Well, at least it is insured.  I’ll just cross my fingers that the car doesn’t get impounded.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Unregistered Vehicle”

  1. Paul Klingsberg Says:

    If by chance you are stopped, explain this to the cop and you’ll almost certainly get off with a warning. They definitely will not impound your car! (Moreover, I highly doubt that a PA cop would stop a car with NC plates for out-of-date inspection!!))

  2. Liz Munch Says:

    Yay you’re back! Can’t wait to see you in a few days!

  3. bfasy Says:

    Yeah, I am hoping that the PA cops don’t notice my expired tags.

    Liz, I won’t be back in Durham until the end of the month. But, I will see you then.

Let me know what you think!

