PHI stands for Pub House of Insolence

After a long day, Dave and I enjoyed a nice dinner at Union Grill (with a nicely priced $10 bottle of wine).  The food was good, and the service was excellent.

Looking for a place to watch the UNC basketball game, Dave asked the waiter for a suggestion.   He suggested going to the Panther Hollow Inn (PHI) bar around the corner.

When we arrived at PHI, we were both appalled by the stench of cigarette smoke in the bar.  So, I stayed near the door where the smoke was not as bad as Dave went to the back to find the bartender to ask for a six-pack to go.  A few minutes later, I notice that the bartender is pointing at me and motioning for me to come over.

After looking at her inquisitively, I realized that she probably wanted to see my ID.  I walk over to Dave, who tells me that I need to show my ID, to which I respond, still half surprised:

Why does she need to see my id?

as I was taking it out of my wallet.  [Living in Austria, I am never asked to see my ID.  Additionally, I didn’t plan on drinking the beer, so it hadn’t crossed my mind that I would need to show my ID.  I do understand though that it is reasonable to ask for my ID, and I was not refusing to show my ID].

Meanwhile, she is attempting to swipe Dave’s N.C. license (which does not swipe because there is no magnetic strip).  She angrily snaps at me, saying:

I don’t let no underage person buy alcohol in MY bar.

Slightly shocked by her response, I just ignore the rude comment and prepare to show her my ID.  Dave, however, did not like the way that she spoke to me, and asked for his license back (which she had swiped unsuccessfully about 30 times by now).  Her response was to show us her middle finger and walk away, while giving us a farewell valediction of:

Well, F*** You!

Outraged, I yell back to her:

Excuse me?  What was that for?

I was about to demand an apology when Dave made me leave.  I doubt she would have apologized anyway.

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “PHI stands for Pub House of Insolence”

  1. Natalie Says:

    I swear, you guys get into such crazy situations….

  2. Morten Says:

    The first thing that came to my mind when I read this was: ‘stuff like this always happens to Brit’. Seems like I am not the only person to notice. 🙂

  3. bfasy Says:

    Dave says these types of things only happen when I am around too. lol. Seriously, she was so rude, and Dave was so cheery. It was such a glaring contrast. And, I walked out crying because I don’t like it when people are mean to me!

  4. Terese Fasy Says:

    These things happen – but usually to me! Perhaps it’s hereditary!

    It appears that this gal has some issues – not to mention wretched English skills!

Let me know what you think!

