Tap Dancing

When I was a senior in college, I worked part-time at Lockheed Martin in King of Prussia.  Living on City Ave with my roomie Kathy, I woke up very early to start work around 6:30 a.m.  On occasion, I would be leaving the apartment just as Kathy was arriving home from an all-nighter of painting.  Neither of us was particularly pleased at that hour.

As I only worked part-time, I would come home in the early afternoon and go straight into thesis-mode.  One day, I was particularly exhausted (I think I had only an hour of sleep the night before) and walked from the front door straight to my bed, tossing my shoes off as quickly as I could.  Then, I collapsed into my bed.  Just as the muscles in my back started to release, I heard a knock at the door.  I thought about ignoring it, but they persisted.  When I answered the door (in my socks), the person yelled at me for walking around the apartment in heels.  I looked at them inquisitively and they looked at my feet confused.  Apparently, they heard me walk in and I woke them up from their 2pm nap.  Tough cookies.

Later that day, Kathy came home and our friend Meghan came over.  I asked Kathy if she knew how to tap dance.  She said yes, and started to teach us how to tap dance.  We learned the gallop and the train.  The three person train went all around our apartment, well, mostly in circles from living room to the dining room to the kitchen to the office to the living room … Somewhere around lap three, we heard a knock.  This time we all hid in the kitchen and pretended not to be home.  The three of us were hiding under the window (I think we were on the 3rd or 4th floor) crouched down beside the stove, whispering “what do we do?”  As if to answer our questions, our friend Josh called my cell phone.  He was actually an RA in the building and we thought we’d be able to have him scare away the guys from downstairs who were at our door:

“Hello” I whisper

“Are you ok?”

“Yes, but I think someone is at my door.”

“I am at your door.”

That was the last time we heard from the guys who lived below us.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Tap Dancing”

  1. louis vuitton handbags Says:

    Sweet blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News. Do you have
    any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Many thanks

Let me know what you think!

