Jet Lag

Dave is sick and I am operating on a time zone somewhere in the Pacific ocean.  We both just returned from a trip across the Atlantic.

Last week, i was in Russia.  I think the fact that I had little sleep in Russia (waking up early and going to bed late) has caused me to become over-exhausted on my 24 hour return journey.  Or, maybe it was the fact that my journey was 24 hours … in either event, I slept until 3:00 today.  Now, I worry about waking up in time for a meeting on Tuesday at 10:30 a.m.  I hope I can adjust my schedule in time! 

While I was in Russia, Dave was in Heidelberg, Germany for the Heidelberg Laureate Forum, where Abel, Fields, and Turing Laureates were there to meet young scientists like David.  There, he met a few people who knew me, one of whom said that David says my name wrong.  Thinking it was someone who says “fah-see” instead of “fay-zee”, I asked how they said Fasy and if it was someone from topology.  When he said it wasn’t my last name, it was my first name, I immediately asked how he says my first name.  When he responded, i found out that she was right: Dave does say my name wrong.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Jet Lag”

  1. Michael Says:

    Was this person an Abel-, Fields-, or Turing-Laureate? Anyway, too bad that I missed Dave by one week!

    • bfasy Says:

      The person was none of the above; she was a graduate student from CMU.

      Dave knew that you were coming, so he had to get out of the country quickly. 😉

Let me know what you think!

