Lucky Day

Today, I flew from New Orleans to San Francisco.  I wasn’t expecting the day to be particularly eventful, but it was.

First. I got a free ride to the airport.  It wasn’t a friend, it was a free shuttle ride.  All I had to do was tip the driver.

Second. The person in front of me at the airport food “restaurant” was in a jolly mood, so he bought me lunch (and later told me to send him an email because he needs people like me at his company).

Third. Lax Airport has delicious food.  I ate at Lemonade.  I had a four types of salad (kale, butternut squash, edamame, avocado).  Each was delicious, and very fresh. Oh, and I also had a giant Pistachio macaroon!

Fourth.  I was upgraded to first class on my flight from LAX to SFO.  Go Delta Silver!

Fourth. I rented a car from Fox.  After reading the reviews, I was very skeptical … but they charged $16 / day and the other companies were charging $56 (ok, I decided not to go with the cheapest option which was only $12 / day, but took two shuttles to get to).  I figured if I had a really bad feeling about it, I could just go with another rental company last-minute.  Surely one of them would have a car available.  It was super easy to get the rental (some people complained about long waits).  The staff was extremely courteous:  they gave me directions, put bags in my car, and refused to take a tip (some people complained about staff being rude).  The car was brand new, no dents/dings (some complaints were about the condition of the car).  Now, I don’t have a key remote, and I don’t have power windows.  But, I didn’t pay $56/day either.

Now, I am staying with Srinivas & Jenn for two nights, then with Varun on Friday.  Thanks, guys!

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Lucky Day”

  1. Daria Says:

    It was your lucky day! Have fun.

Let me know what you think!

