Cabbage

Dave may have missed Mardi Gras, but he made it for St. Patty’s Day weekend in New Orleans. The throws? Cabbage, carrots, garlic, potatoes, garters, and underwear. Our Catch? 20 cabbages, 3 packages of Ramen, lots of beads, and more:

image

So, now I need to cook 20 cabbages.  Day 1: stir fry cabbage, tofu, and bell peppers served over ramen, with a salad on the side.  I used only one cabbage.  It was yummy, the next night, I ate the leftovers.  As not to miss an opportunity to use some cabbages, I blanched 4 cabbages, two shredded, and two quartered.  Then, froze them; postponing the decision of what to do with four of them.

image

Day 3: stuffed cabbage.  This was my first attempt at making it, but I adapted my recipe from this Rachel Ray recipe.  One of the lessons that I learned was that it is best to use the loose leaves for the stuffed cabbage, even though it is very tempting to throw them out.  In fact, I threw many of the good leaves away because they just looked too dirty.  Running them under cold water and using my fingers to rub off the dirt easily cleaned them.  Anyway, I made some changes to her recipe, so I’ll just give mine here:

  1. Cook the rice as Rach instructs (use 2 tablespoons butter to brown 1/2 cup orzo.  Add 1 cup rice, stir.  Add 2 1/2 c chicken stock and simmer for about 15 min (or until water disappears).  I had some orzo/rice stuck to the bottom of my pot. Not sure how to avoid that.
  2. Brown 1 lb of ground meat seasoned with salt and pepper.  Add 1 diced onion, 5 cloves minced garlic.  Season.  I used cinnamon, fresh dill, and dried parsley.
  3. Mix rice and meat in a bowl.
  4. Boil 12 large cabbage leaves to soften.  Let them cool in cold water.
  5. In the skillet used for the meat, heat 1 cup tomato sauce, 1 cup chicken stock, and 5 small tomatoes (diced).  Season with salt, pepper, and dried parsley.
  6. Stuff the cabbage.  Start rolling near the thickest part, tuck the sides in, then roll.  Place seam-side down in the pan.  Simmer for 30 minutes or so.

I’m about to freeze my leftovers.  They were delicious!  I don’t even like stuffed cabbage usually.  I now have a craving to do this again using ground lamb meat.

image

Tags: , , ,

2 Responses to “Cabbage”

  1. Daria Says:

    You are officially Ukrainian! They look professional, Brittany. I’ll have Pa send you his cabbage soup recipe. It’s wonderful.

    • bfasy Says:

      thanks, ma! They were yummy. Yes, cabbage soup recipe please! Before these cabbages go bad. The stuffed cabbage did not use so much of the cabbage. Only a dozen leaves or so.

Let me know what you think!

