Adidas

Years ago, my neighbor Kim told me what Adidas stood for: All Day I Dream About Sports.  Made sense.

However, my friend Michael set the record straight.  This is not true.  Adidas is a German company.  This confused me, as why would they have an English acronym as a name?  Well, it is named after its founder: Adolf (Adi) Dassler (Das).  And, I’ve been pronouncing it wrong my whole life (should be Ah-di-daas not A-di-das).

Thanks, Michael for always giving me facts that make me question everything I know (he was also the one that pointed out Feb 24 is leap day, not Feb 29th).

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Adidas”

  1. Ma Says:

    Huh, and the middle school kids I taught told me it stood for “All day I dream about sex!” Of course, that’s where THEIR minds were.

Let me know what you think!

