Pumpkin Season!

I love pumpkin.  So, when fall treats are pumpkin-flavored, I go overboard.  A few weeks ago, I bought pureed pumpkin from Costco (it’s just pumpkin in those cans!)  I’ve been dreaming about what to make, until yesterday morning when I had pancakes after the BRC run … that is when I decided that I wanted to make vegan pumpkin pancakes!  Oh, and they were delicious.

Wet Ingredients:

  1. 3 cups soy milk
  2. 2 cups pumpkin
  3. 1 (frozen) banana
  4. 1 teaspoon almond extract

Dry Ingredients:

  1. 4 cups all purpose flour
  2. 4 tablespoons light brown sugar
  3. 1 Tablespoon baking powder
  4. 2 teaspoons baking soda
  5. 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  6. 2 teaspoons ground ginger
  7. 1 teaspoon salt
  8. 1 Tablespoon nutmeg / allspice mix (I ground 1 nutmeg + 10 allspice and scooped 1 Tablespoon from that mixture)

I put the dry ingredients in the kitchen-aid mixing bowl, and the wet ingredients in a bowl that had a pouring spout.  After mixing the wet ingredients together, I realized I didn’t have any maple syrup, so I called the baking hotline … aka Alana … who told me to just mix it all and leave it in the fridge while I run to the store.  She says pancakes get fluffier if the batter is left sitting in the fridge for a few hours (or even overnight).  So, I slowly poured the wet ingredients into the dry as the kitchen-aid was on the lowest setting. Then, I put the batter into the fridge as I went to the store to get maple syrup.  I used 1/4-cup measuring cup to portion out the pancakes.  They were extremely fluffy, and delicious.

IMG_1195

This made about 30 pancakes, so about 10 servings.  I froze leftovers for easy breakfast, but perhaps the recipe should be halved.  I ate my pumpkin pancakes with pure maple syrup and pomegranates (heated in the microwave).  Yum!

IMG_1196

IMG_1200

IMG_1202

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Pumpkin Season!”

  1. thehomemakerslife Says:

    Everyone should have some pumpkin in their life during autumn 🙂

  2. Daria Says:

    Sounds delicious! Remind me to send you my famous pumpkin bread recipe.

    • bfasy Says:

      will do!! i need pumpkin recipes, as i’m not even 1/2 way through my first of three cans … plus, I have a real pumpkin to cut open.

Let me know what you think!